The Nizkor Project: Remembering the Holocaust (Shoah)

Авторы книг о "Холокосте" утверждают, что нацисты могли кремировать тело за 10 минут. Сколько времени требуется для сожжения одного тела согласно профессиональным операторам крематориев?


42. Авторы книг о "Холокосте" утверждают, что нацисты могли кремировать тело за 10 минут. Сколько времени требуется для сожжения одного тела согласно профессиональным операторам крематориев?

ИПИ утверждает (в оригинале):

Примерно 2 часа.

ИПИ утверждает (в измененной версии):

Примерно час с половиной, хотя большие кости затем должны быть подвергнуты дальнейшей обработке.

Низкор отвечает:

Ну так два или полтора часа? Только совсем недавно отрицатели Холокоста начали полагаться на показания Ивана Лагаса, который на суде над Цунделем, а позже и в прессе, заявил, что на сожжение одного тела требуется от шести до восьми часов.

ИПИ возмущается, что показания выживших в Холокосте людей противоречат друг другу в деталях, касающихся, хотя бы, продолжительности кремации. Но ИПИ и сам не может решить, сколько же требовалось времени!

Разница между цифрой ИПИ и реальным временем (около 30 минут) происходит, главным образом, из непонимания ИПИ разницы между военнопромышленными и гражданскими крематориями.

Когда отрицатели говорят о "профессиональных операторах крематориев", они имеют в виду людей вроде Лагаса, которые кремируют по одному трупу за раз, с гробом, в печи, спроектированной таким образом, чтобы она могла превращать даже самые большие кости в горстку пепла для безутешных родственников. Эта ситуация, конечно же, не сравнима с ситуацией в Освенциме-Биркенау во время Второй Мировой войны.

Например, Лагасу и в голову бы не пришло смешивать пепел одного мертвеца с пеплом другого. Лагас и ИПИ забывают, что два или три трупа (кожа да кости) могли быть помещены в один муфель. Это, конечно, не полагается делать в гражданском крематории.

Также, освенцимские печи могли работать без перерыва, используя тепло, выделившееся при сожжении предыдущих тел, для уничтожения последующих. После того, как печи были разогреты с помощью кокса до нужной температуры в начале дня, они нуждались лишь в очень малом количестве топлива. Это техническое достижение прекрасно задокументировано (см. Gutman et al., Anatomy of the Auschwitz Death Camp, 1994, pp. 185-187ff). Лагас утверждает, что между двумя процессами сожжения должен быть период охлаждения, и что безостановочное использование очень скоро привело бы к поломке печей Освенцима. Лагас, тем самым, показывает свое невежество, и опять не понимает отличие обычных гражданских крематориев от военнопромышленных крематориев.

Также, в типичном гражданском крематории оператор постарается подольше подержать тело в печи, чтобы выгорела вся плоть, и кости стали белыми. Даже с учетом этого, длительность процесса увеличивается максимум до четырех часов, а не до шести или восьми. Лагас забывает, что нацистам не важны были "косметические" детали. Смотрите также наш ответ на вопрос 45.

Вопрос о времени сожжения, на самом деле, просто не стоит. В 1939 фирма "Топф и сыновья" подписала контракт на постройку печи для Дахау, "производительность" которой была один труп в час на муфель (которых было два). Увеличив воздушное давление, в июле 1940 года фирма произвела печь, которая могла сжигать чуть менее двух трупов в час в одном муфеле (которых, опять же, было два). Печи этой требовалось всего три часа ухода в день, что гораздо меньше 12 часов в день, как это утверждает ИПИ в вопросе 45 (см. Gutman et al., op. cit., pp. 185-186, 189-190).

Крематории, установленные позже в Освенциме-Биркенау, были массивны. Они могли уничтожать по несколько тел в одном муфеле примерно за полчаса. Они могли работать непрерывно в течение нескольких дней, без ухода. Хотя были и трудности, и один раз несколько печей нельзя было использовать в течение нескольких месяцев. Топф и сыновья получили в 1951 году патент, в котором говорится, что один муфель может кремировать один труп за полчаса.


[ Назад | В начало | Дальше ]

Home ·  Site Map ·  What's New? ·  Search Nizkor

© The Nizkor Project, 1991-2012

This site is intended for educational purposes to teach about the Holocaust and to combat hatred. Any statements or excerpts found on this site are for educational purposes only.

As part of these educational purposes, Nizkor may include on this website materials, such as excerpts from the writings of racists and antisemites. Far from approving these writings, Nizkor condemns them and provides them so that its readers can learn the nature and extent of hate and antisemitic discourse. Nizkor urges the readers of these pages to condemn racist and hate speech in all of its forms and manifestations.

The Nizkor Project: Remembering the Holocaust (Shoah)

"Holocaust" authors claim that the Nazis were able to cremate bodies in about 10 minutes. How long does it take to incinerate one body according to professional crematory operators?

42. "Holocaust" authors claim that the Nazis were able to cremate bodies in about 10 minutes. How long does it take to incinerate one body according to professional crematory operators?

The IHR says (original):

About 2 hours.

The IHR says (revised):

About an hour and a half, although the larger bones require further processing afterwards.

Nizkor replies:

Well, which is it, 1.5 or 2? More recently, the Holocaust-deniers have begun to rely on the testimony of Ivan Lagace, who apparently said at the Zündel trial and later in print that it takes six or eight hours per body.

The IHR has a lot of nerve complaining that survivors' testimonies contradict each other on technical details like cremation time -- it can't even get its own story straight!

The discrepancy between the IHR's estimates and the actual time (more like 30 minutes) is chiefly due to the fact that the IHR is confusing military-industrial crematoria with everyday civilian crematoria.

When they say "professional crematory operators," they mean people like Lagace, whose job is to cremate one corpse at a time, with a coffin, in an oven designed to incinerate even the largest bones into a fine ash for the next of kin to take home. This situation is obviously not comparable to the situation at Auschwitz-Birkenau during the Second World War.

For example, Lagace would never even consider mixing or "comingling" the ashes of one deceased person with those of another. Lagace and the IHR forget that two or three emaciated corpses could be inserted into each "muffle." This would, of course, never be done in a civilian, commercial establishment.

Also, the Auschwitz furnaces were designed to run continuously, using the heat energy produced by the burning of previous bodies to keep the oven hot for the next bodies. After they were fired with coke to their proper operating temperature at the beginning of the day, they required little or no extra fuel to operate. This was a technical achievement that is well-documented (see Gutman et al., Anatomy of the Auschwitz Death Camp, 1994, pp. 185-187ff). Lagace claims that there must be a "cooling off" period between each body incinerated, which shows a profound ignorance on his part as to how the ovens worked. Lagace claims that continuous operation would have caused the Auschwitz ovens to break down, but again, he simply does not understand the difference between everyday civilian crematoria and military-industrial crematoria.

Also, typically, a commercial crematory operator will burn a corpse for an extended period to remove all traces of carbonized flesh, i.e., to whiten the bones. Even so, such processes only extend the total cremation time to between two and four hours, and not the six to eight hours that Lagace claimed. Lagace forgets that such cosmetic concerns were not of importance to the Nazis. But these errors and others are dealt with in the reply to question 45.

Those errors aside, there is still simply no question about the burning times of the ovens. In 1939, the firm of Topf and Sons was awarded a contract to build a Dachau furnace which had an estimated capacity of one corpse per hour per muffle (times two muffles). By increasing the air pressure, by July 1940 they had produced a furnace that could burn just under two corpses per hour per muffle (again, times two muffles). It required three hours of maintenance per day, a far cry from the twelve hours per day claimed by the IHR in question 45. (See Gutman et al., op. cit., pp. 185-186, 189-190.)

The crematoriums that were eventually installed at Auschwitz-Birkenau were massive. They were capable of disposing of several bodies per muffle in half an hour or so, and they could run for days at a time without maintenance. (There were difficulties eventually, however, and several of the ovens were out of service for months at a time.) Topf and Sons was awarded a patent in 1951, and the patent also states that a single muffle can cremate a corpse in half an hour.

Photographs of the furnaces in Krema II are available.

[ Previous | Index | Next ]

Home ·  Site Map ·  What's New? ·  Search Nizkor

© The Nizkor Project, 1991-2012

This site is intended for educational purposes to teach about the Holocaust and to combat hatred. Any statements or excerpts found on this site are for educational purposes only.

As part of these educational purposes, Nizkor may include on this website materials, such as excerpts from the writings of racists and antisemites. Far from approving these writings, Nizkor condemns them and provides them so that its readers can learn the nature and extent of hate and antisemitic discourse. Nizkor urges the readers of these pages to condemn racist and hate speech in all of its forms and manifestations.