The Nizkor Project: Remembering the Holocaust (Shoah)

Освенцим был в Польше, а не в Германии. Есть ли хоть какие-нибудь доказательства того, что там существовали газовые камеры для уничтожения людей?


5. Освенцим был в Польше, а не в Германии. Есть ли хоть какие-нибудь доказательства того, что там существовали газовые камеры для уничтожения людей?

ИПИ утверждает (в оригинале):

Нет. Вознаграждение в 50,000 долларов было обещано тому, кто предоставит такие доказательства. Деньги держались в банке, но никто не предоставил сколько-нибудь достоверные сведения. Освенцим, захваченный советскими войсками, был существенно модифицирован после войны, и морг был переделан, чтобы выглядеть как большая "газовая камера". Теперь это большой аттракцион для туристов при коммунистическом польском правительстве.

ИПИ утверждает (в измененной версии):

Нет. Освенцим, захваченный советскими войсками, был модифицирован после войны, и одна комната была переделана, чтобы выглядеть как большая "газовая камера". После того, как ведущий американский эксперт по дизайну и конструкции газовых камер Фред Лейхтер обследовал ее и другие помещения, якобы предназначенные для умерщвления газом, он заявил, что "абсурдно" утверждать, что они использовались - или могли использоваться - для казней.

Низкор отвечает:

Награда в 50,000 (а точнее в 90,000) долларов была выплачена до последнего цента Мелу Мермельштейну, уцелевшему в Освенциме, который подал на ИПИ в суд. Вот одно из заявлений судьи:

Достопочтенный судья Томас Т. Джонсон 9 октября 1981 года принял юридическое уведомление следующим образом:

Согласно разделу 452(h) свода правил об уликах, этот суд принимает во внимание тот факт, что евреи были умерщвляемы газом в концентрационном лагере Освенцим, что в Польше, летом 1944 года.

Также:

Это просто факт, который подпадает под определение раздела 452(h) свода правил об уликах. Он не является разумным поводом для спора. И его возможно немедленно и тщательно подтвердить, прибегнув к источникам, обладающим вполне бесспорной точностью. Это просто факт.

ИПИ жалуется на то, что ему не дали шанса подискутировать об этом факте, но ведь американский суд и не призван быть местом для людей, пытающихся доказать свои странные теории. "Сколько-нибудь достоверные сведения" не были предоставлены просто потому, что они в том случае не требовались. Суд - это отнюдь не место, призванное заниматься перепроверкой работ историков второй половины 20-го века.

Кроме того, "достоверные сведения" для отрицателей означают лишь то, что они сами хотят под этим понимать. Майкл Шермер, в открытом письме ревизионистам, сообщил, что ответит на вызов ИПИ, если только институт точно определится, что будет считаться доказательством. Шермер не получил ответа. Его письмо даже не напечатали.

После суда и Мермельштейн, и ИПИ подали друг на друга иски за клевету, но позже решили не доводить дело до конца. Отрицатели Холокоста называют это "шокирующей победой", которая "аннулирует результат первого процесса". Нонсенс. Два процесса не были связаны друг с другом, и на втором из них не шла бы речь о газовых камерах Освенцима.

О других подробностях можно узнать из нашего FTP архива.

У нас также есть опровержение так называемого "Доклада Лейхтера".


[ Назад | В начало | Дальше ]

Home ·  Site Map ·  What's New? ·  Search Nizkor

© The Nizkor Project, 1991-2012

This site is intended for educational purposes to teach about the Holocaust and to combat hatred. Any statements or excerpts found on this site are for educational purposes only.

As part of these educational purposes, Nizkor may include on this website materials, such as excerpts from the writings of racists and antisemites. Far from approving these writings, Nizkor condemns them and provides them so that its readers can learn the nature and extent of hate and antisemitic discourse. Nizkor urges the readers of these pages to condemn racist and hate speech in all of its forms and manifestations.

The Nizkor Project: Remembering the Holocaust (Shoah)

Is there any proof that gas chambers for the purpose of killing human beings existed at or in Auschwitz?

5. Auschwitz was in Poland, not Germany. Is there any proof that gas chambers for the purpose of killing human beings existed at or in Auschwitz?

The IHR says:

No. A reward of $50,000 was offered for such proof, the money being held in trust by a bank, but no one came up with any credible evidence. Auschwitz, captured by the Soviets, was extensively modified after the war and a mortuary was reconstructed to look like a large "gas chamber." It is now a big tourist attraction for the Communist Polish government.

The IHR says (revised):

No. Auschwitz, captured by the Soviets, was modified after the war, and a room was reconstructed to look like a large "gas chamber." After America's leading expert on gas chamber construction and design, Fred Leuchter, examined this and other alleged Auschwitz gassing facilities, he stated that it was an "absurdity" to claim that they were, or could have been, used for executions.

Nizkor replies:

Regarding the $50,000 reward offer: it was paid, to the last cent (actually $90,000), to Mel Mermelstein, an Auschwitz survivor who took the IHR to court. Here is the statement made by the judge:

The Honorable Thomas T. Johnson, on October 9, 1981, took judicial notice as follows:

Under Evidence Code Section 452(h), this court does take judicial notice of the fact that Jews were gassed to death at the Auschwitz Concentration Camp in Poland during the summer of 1944


It just simply is a fact that falls within the definition of Evidence Code Section 452(h). It is not reasonably subject to dispute. And it is capable of immediate and accurate determination by resort to sources of reasonably indisputable accuracy. It is simply a fact.

The IHR complains that they were not given a chance to dispute this fact, but then the American court system is not meant to be a place for people to try to prove crackpot theories. No "credible evidence" was produced because there was no call for it -- a courtroom is not the place to rehash the work of historians over the last half-century.

Besides, "credible evidence" means only what Holocaust-deniers want it to mean. Michael Shermer, in an open letter, has offered to take the IHR up on a similar offer, but only if they precisely define ahead of time what they will accept as evidence. He has received no reply. (In fact, to date, his letter has not even been printed.)

After this trial, both Mermelstein and the IHR sued each other for libel, but both decided not to go to court. The Holocaust deniers claim this is a "stunning victory" which "nullifies the result of the first trial." Nonsense: the two were unrelated, and the second trial would have had nothing to do with the gas chambers of Auschwitz.

As with most legal proceedings, the details get quite complicated. Great detail, including copies of several official documents, is available in the FTP archives.

Regarding Fred Leuchter's fraudulent "Report," a separate FAQ is available.

[ Previous | Index | Next ]

Home ·  Site Map ·  What's New? ·  Search Nizkor

© The Nizkor Project, 1991-2012

This site is intended for educational purposes to teach about the Holocaust and to combat hatred. Any statements or excerpts found on this site are for educational purposes only.

As part of these educational purposes, Nizkor may include on this website materials, such as excerpts from the writings of racists and antisemites. Far from approving these writings, Nizkor condemns them and provides them so that its readers can learn the nature and extent of hate and antisemitic discourse. Nizkor urges the readers of these pages to condemn racist and hate speech in all of its forms and manifestations.