The Nizkor Project: Remembering the Holocaust (Shoah)

Если Дахау находился в Германии, и даже сам Симон Визенталь утверждает, что это был не лагерь уничтожения, то почему тысячи американских ветеранов говорят, что это лагерь уничтожения?


4. Если Дахау находился в Германии, и даже сам Симон Визенталь утверждает, что это был не лагерь уничтожения, то почему тысячи американских ветеранов говорят, что это лагерь уничтожения?

ИПИ утверждает:

Потому что после того, как союзники захватили Дахау, многих американских солдат провели по всему лагерю и показали им помещения, выдаваемые за газовые камеры; и еще, потому что очень многие СМИ ложно заявили, что Дахау был лагерем "газового уничтожения".

Низкор отвечает:

В том смысле, что тысячи людей были заморены там голодом или убиты просто так, да, Дахау был лагерем смерти. Термин "лагерь уничтожения", наверное, не стоит применять к Дахау, потому что под ним обычно подразумеваются большие лагеря в оккупированной Польше, где производились массовые убийства при помощи газа (см. вопрос 3).

Однако несомненен тот факт, что в Дахау была газовая камера. Союзники захватили докладную записку доктора Зигмунда Рашера (из Дахау) Гиммлеру, в которой сообщалось (см. Kogon et al., Nazi Mass Murder, 1993, p. 202):

Как вы знаете, в Дахау было построено такое же помещение [газовая камера], как и в Линце [Хартхайме]. Так как "неправильные транспортируемые" все равно оказываются в известных камерах, я хочу спросить, нельзя ли нам протестировать некоторые боевые газы на конкретных задействованных персонах. До сего момента все ограничивалось лишь тестами на животных и рассказами о случайных смертях при производстве этих газов. Из-за данного параграфа я послал это письмо с пометкой "Секретно".

Американский репортер снял на пленку газовую камеру вскоре после захвата лагеря. Она была помечена как "Brausebad" ("душевая"), несмотря на то, что там не было никаких душевых приспособлений.

Вопрос о том, использовалась ли эта камера по назначению, до сих пор открыт. Некоторые историки утверждают, что она точно не использовалась, другие говорят, что вопрос не решен. Есть два свидетельства: показания британского офицера Пейна-Беста, утверждавшего, что он слышал, как доктор Рашер говорил об умерщвлении газом, и показания доктора Франца Блахи, который дал показания под присягой об экспериментальных умерщвлениях газом (см. Kogon et al., op. cit., pp. 202-204, и Trial of the Major War Criminals, 1947, vol. V, pp. 167-199). Доктор Чарльз Ларсон, судебный эксперт, также осмотрел тела умерщвленных газом в лагере, и пришел к выводу, что "лишь относительно немногие из заключенных, которых я осматривал, были убиты таким способом".

Отрицатели Холокоста, конечно же, предпочитают говорить лишь о той точке зрения, по которой газовые камеры в Дахау не использовались. Они часто цитируют письмо, написанное в 1960 году директором Института Современной Истории в Мюнхене (см. Die Zeit, August 19, 1960, p. 16):

В Дахау не убивали газом

Ни в Дахау, ни в Бергене-Бельзене, ни в Бухенвальде евреев, или других узников, не убивали газом.

Письмо, конечно же, подтверждает, что массовые убийства при помощи газа происходили в более крупных лагерях. Но отрицатели Холокоста опускают эту часть письма. Точно так же они не сообщают, что после 1960 года институт провел дополнительные исследования, и пришел к новым выводам. Теперь представители института заявляют:

... [в Дахау] была устроена газовая камера ... в которой были осуществлены несколько экспериментальных убийств газом, как подтвердили недавние исследования.

И, наконец, СМИ, по большей части, сообщают факты о Дахау: там проводились умерщвления газом, но в малых масштабах. Допустим ли термин "лагерь газового уничтожения" по отношению к Дахау, вероятно, зависит от контекста. Если ИПИ может привести цитату из газеты или журнала, где сообщается неверная информация, что ж, ничего не имеем против. Не в первый и не в последний раз неверные сведения попадают на страницы печатных изданий. И если отрицатели считают, что газетные ошибки доказывают, что Холокоста не было, они, конечно же, заблуждаются.


[ Назад | В начало | Дальше ]

Home ·  Site Map ·  What's New? ·  Search Nizkor

© The Nizkor Project, 1991-2012

This site is intended for educational purposes to teach about the Holocaust and to combat hatred. Any statements or excerpts found on this site are for educational purposes only.

As part of these educational purposes, Nizkor may include on this website materials, such as excerpts from the writings of racists and antisemites. Far from approving these writings, Nizkor condemns them and provides them so that its readers can learn the nature and extent of hate and antisemitic discourse. Nizkor urges the readers of these pages to condemn racist and hate speech in all of its forms and manifestations.

The Nizkor Project: Remembering the Holocaust (Shoah)

Was Dachau an extermination camp?

4. If Dachau was in Germany and even Simon Wiesenthal says that it was not an extermination camp, why do thousands of veterans in America say that it was an extermination camp?

The IHR says:

Because after the Allies captured Dachau, thousands of G.I.s were led through Dachau and shown buildings alleged to be gas chambers, and because the mass-media widely, but falsely, stated that Dachau was a "gassing" camp.

Nizkor replies:

In the sense that tens of thousands of people were starved to death and sporadically killed in it, yes, Dachau was a death camp. The term "extermination camp" should probably not be applied to Dachau, because that is generally taken to mean one of the large camps in occupied Poland where mass gassings were performed (see question 3).

What is not in question is that the gas chamber did exist. The Allies captured the memo sent from Dr. Sigmund Rascher at Dachau to Himmler, which read (see Kogon et al., Nazi Mass Murder, 1993, p. 202):

As you know, the same facilities [gas chambers] have been built at the Dachau concentration camp as at Linz [Hartheim]. Whereas the "invalid transports" end up in certain chambers anyway, I ask whether we cannot test some of our various combat gases on specific persons who are involved in the action. Up till now there have only been animal tests or accounts of accidental deaths in the manufacture of these gases. Because of this paragraph, I have sent this letter marked "Secret."

An American reporter made a movie showing the gas chamber very soon after the camp's capture, showing how it was labelled "Brausebad" ("showers") despite having no shower facilities.

The question of whether the gas chamber can be proved to have been used has not been definitively answered. Some historians say that there is no question: it was never used. Some say that the question is still open. It comes down to two testimonies: that of a British officer named Payne-Best who says he heard Dr. Rascher speak of gassings, and that of Dr. Franz Blaha, who testified under oath to experimental gassings. For more information, see Kogon et al., op. cit., pp. 202-204, and Blaha's testimony in Trial of the Major War Criminals, 1947, vol. V, pp. 167-199. Dr. Charles Larson, a forensics expert, also examined gassing victims at the camp, saying "only relatively few of the inmates I personally examined at Dachau were murdered in this manner."

Holocaust-deniers, of course, only present the point of view which says that it was never used. They often quote from a 1960 letter written by the director of the Institut für Zeitgeschichte (Institute for Contemporary History), in Munich (see Die Zeit, August 19, 1960, p. 16):

No Gassing in Dachau

Neither in Dachau nor in Bergen-Belsen nor in Buchenwald were Jews or other prisoners gassed.

The letter of course confirms that mass gassing did take place in the larger camps. Holocaust-deniers don't like to mention that part. They also don't like to mention that, since 1960, the Institut has performed more research and has come to a new conclusion. They now say:

...a gas chamber was established [in Dachau] in which...a few experimental gassings were undertaken, as more recent research has confirmed.

Finally, the "mass media," for the most part, states the facts: that Dachau was used for gassing on a very small scale. Whether the term "gassing camp" is appropriate would probably depend on context. If the IHR can present a cite in which a newspaper or magazine has printed an inaccuracy, let them do so. It won't be the first time, nor the last, that something was erroneously printed. If Holocaust-deniers think errors in newspapers help prove that the Holocaust did not occur, they are obviously deluded.

[ Previous | Index | Next ]

Home ·  Site Map ·  What's New? ·  Search Nizkor

© The Nizkor Project, 1991-2012

This site is intended for educational purposes to teach about the Holocaust and to combat hatred. Any statements or excerpts found on this site are for educational purposes only.

As part of these educational purposes, Nizkor may include on this website materials, such as excerpts from the writings of racists and antisemites. Far from approving these writings, Nizkor condemns them and provides them so that its readers can learn the nature and extent of hate and antisemitic discourse. Nizkor urges the readers of these pages to condemn racist and hate speech in all of its forms and manifestations.