The Nizkor Project: Remembering the Holocaust (Shoah)

Правда ли, что однажды Симон Визенталь написал, что "на германской земле не было лагерей уничтожения"?


3. Правда ли, что однажды Симон Визенталь написал, что "на германской земле не было лагерей уничтожения"?

ИПИ утверждает (в оригинале):

Да. В 1975 году, в апрельском выпуске "Books and Bookmen". Он утверждает, что "отравления" евреев "газом" происходили в Польше.

ИПИ утверждает (в измененной версии):

Да. Знаменитый "охотник за нацистами" написал это в "Stars and Stripes", 24 января 1993 года. Он также утверждает, что "отравления" евреев "газом" происходили только в Польше.

Низкор отвечает:

В 1975 году в письме к редактору Визенталь написал:

Тот факт, что на немецкой земле не было лагерей уничтожения, неонацисты используют как доказательство того, что эти преступления не совершались [...]

По иронии судьбы, Визенталь не только прав, но и эти его слова позже были использованы в описанной им манере.

Сами по себе ответы верны: Визенталь действительно утверждал в 1975 и в 1993 годах, что на территории сегодняшней Германии никогда не было лагерей уничтожения. Это невинное замечание может заставить читателя думать, что Визенталь сделал некое признание того, что Холокост был гораздо более ограничен, чем утверждалось ранее, и что правда, наконец-то, выходит наружу. Подобные утверждения используются отрицателями для заявлений о том, что они, якобы, заставляют историков говорить правду.

А правда заключается в том, что историки и люди, подобные Визенталю, сами на протяжении многих лет стараются развеять некоторые мифы о Холокосте. Хорошим примером такого мифа является история о массовом производстве мыла из человеческого жира.

Другая ошибка, которую они пытаются искоренить, состоит в утверждении, что большая часть евреев была уничтожена в Германии (или, точнее, в "Альтрейхе" - в довоенных границах Германии). Хотя в Альтрейхе действительно существовали газовые камеры, и даже проводились умерщвления газом, все это было несравнимо с тем, что происходило в лагерях оккупированной нацистами Польши, таких как Бельзец, Собибор, Треблинка, Кульмхоф/Хелмно, Майданек и Освенцим-Биркенау. Около трех миллионов человек - почти все из них евреи - были отравлены газом в этих лагерях. В Альтрейхе же отравлены газом были лишь несколько тысяч человек, не больше десяти тысяч. Были, конечно, места, где проводились "небольшие" операции отравления, как-то: Дахау, Гузен (Маутхаузен), Нойенгамме, Заксенхаузен, Штутхоф, Равенсбрюк и Бранденбург (тут находилась самая первая газовая камера). Но в основном в Альтрейхе дело ограничилось программой "эвтаназии", во время которой погибли сотни тысяч людей, большинство из которых не были евреями.

У нацистов было, по крайней мере, две хороших причины для постройки лагерей за пределами Германии. Во-первых, так их было проще скрыть от немецкого народа. Учитывая военный хаос, окружавший Альтрейх, их существование было довольно просто сохранить в тайне. Как сказал Ричард Бритман, описывая так называемую программу "эвтаназии":

"Одно дело... убить сотни тысяч восточноевропейских евреев где-то на Востоке - в недоступных местах, где полицейские кордоны не пропустили бы зрителей. И совсем другое дело - убивать евреев в Германии или западноевропейских странах...

...Ложные доклады о причинах смерти вызвали некоторые подозрения; люди, жившие неподалеку от центров умерщвления газом начали понимать, что происходило рядом; были и другие утечки информации. Негативная реакция публики и даже знаки открытого протеста заставили Гитлера закрыть эти центры... эвтаназийные убийства продолжались в более децентрализованной - и менее заметной - манере. Все же, подобный опыт не вызывал доверия к секретности массовых убийств внутри Германии" (Breitman, Richard. Official Secrets: What the Nazis Planned, What the British and Americans Knew, New York: Hill & Wang, 1998, pp 69-70).

Во-вторых, большинство убитых евреев были родом из южных и восточных завоеванных территорий - зачем же было их везти в Германию? (Смотрите статистику в конце первого вопроса).

На что отрицатели не обращают внимания, так это на то, что суть "признания" Визенталя повторялась каждым уважаемым историком последние полвека, начиная, пожалуй, с мюнхенского Института Современной Истории в 1950 году. Такой тенденциозный подбор фактов равнозначен обману путем инсинуаций и умолчания фактов.


[ Назад | В начало | Дальше ]

Home ·  Site Map ·  What's New? ·  Search Nizkor

© The Nizkor Project, 1991-2012

This site is intended for educational purposes to teach about the Holocaust and to combat hatred. Any statements or excerpts found on this site are for educational purposes only.

As part of these educational purposes, Nizkor may include on this website materials, such as excerpts from the writings of racists and antisemites. Far from approving these writings, Nizkor condemns them and provides them so that its readers can learn the nature and extent of hate and antisemitic discourse. Nizkor urges the readers of these pages to condemn racist and hate speech in all of its forms and manifestations.

The Nizkor Project: Remembering the Holocaust (Shoah)

Did Simon Wiesenthal once state in writing that "there were no extermination camps on German soil"?

3. Did Simon Wiesenthal once state in writing that "there were no extermination camps on German soil"?

The IHR says (original):

Yes. In Books and Bookmen, April, 1975 issue. He claims the "gassings" of the Jews took place in Poland.

The IHR says (revised):

Yes. The famous "Nazi hunter" wrote this in Stars and Stripes, Jan. 24, 1993. He also claimed that "gassings" of Jews took place only in Poland.

Nizkor replies:

Wiesenthal's 1975 letter to the editor said:

Because there were no extermination camps on German soil the Neo-Nazis are using this as proof that these crimes did not happen [...]

How ironic that he was not only correct, but that those very words were later misused in the manner he described.

Both answers are correct in themselves: Wiesenthal did indeed indicate in 1975 and in 1993 that there were no extermination camps in what is now Germany. Innocuous as the change seems, it does lead the reader to assume that the most recent statement is some kind of admission that the Holocaust was much more limited than has been maintained and that the truth is finally coming out. Statements like Wiesenthal's are in fact the basis upon which deniers claim that their pressure is forcing the truth out of reluctant historians.

The truth is that historians, and others like Wiesenthal, have attempted repeatedly over the years to dispel several myths about the Holocaust: the mass production of soap made from human fat is a good example.

Another misconception which they have tried to dispel is that the bulk of the extermination of the Jews took place within Germany itself -- or, more properly, within the "Altreich," the prewar boundaries of Germany. While there were indeed gas chambers and homicidal gassings in the Altreich, they were on a much smaller scale than the gassings in the camps in Nazi-occupied Poland, such as Belzec, Sobibor, Treblinka, Kulmhof/Chelmno, Maidanek/Majdanek, and Auschwitz-Birkenau. About three million people, almost exclusively Jews, were gassed to death in those camps. Camp gassings in the Altreich probably claimed the lives of only a few thousand people, almost certainly under ten thousand. Aside from "small-scale" gassing in places like Dachau, Gusen, Neuengamme, Sachsenhausen, Stutthof, and Ravensbrück, and Brandenburg, the site of the first gas chamber, it was largely confined to the "euthanasia" program, which did claim the lives of over a hundred thousand people, mostly non-Jews.

The Nazis had at least two good reasons for building the death camps outside of Germany. First, they were easier to conceal from the German people. Given the chaotic wartime conditions in the territory surrounding the Altreich, they were easier to conceal in general. As Richard Brietman pointed out while writing about the so-called "euthanasia" killings:

"It was one thing ... to kill hundreds of thousands of East European Jews on site in the East -- in inaccessible places, with police cordons preventing spectators from attending. It was quite another thing to murder Jews in Germany or Western European countries... "

...The false causes of death reported raised some suspicions, the residents in the vicinity of the gassing centers began to realize what was going on nearby, and other leaks occurred as well. Adverse public reaction and even signs of open protest induced Hitler to shut down the gassing centers ... the euthanasia killings continued in a more decentralized -- and even less noticeable -- fashion. Still, the experience did not generate confidence about the secrecy of killing on a large scale within Germany." ( Breitman, Richard. Official Secrets: What the Nazis Planned, What the British and Americans Knew, New York: Hill & Wang, 1998. pp 69-70)

Second, the vast majority of murdered Jews came from conquered territory to the east and south -- why go to extra trouble to ship them back into Germany? (See the statistics at the end of question 1.)

What is not given any recognition by the deniers is that the latest "admission" by Wiesenthal is exactly what respectable historians have been saying for the past 45 years, starting perhaps with the Munich-based Institute for Contemporary History in 1950. This selectivity amounts to nothing less than lying by omission and innuendo.

[ Previous | Index | Next ]

Home ·  Site Map ·  What's New? ·  Search Nizkor

© The Nizkor Project, 1991-2012

This site is intended for educational purposes to teach about the Holocaust and to combat hatred. Any statements or excerpts found on this site are for educational purposes only.

As part of these educational purposes, Nizkor may include on this website materials, such as excerpts from the writings of racists and antisemites. Far from approving these writings, Nizkor condemns them and provides them so that its readers can learn the nature and extent of hate and antisemitic discourse. Nizkor urges the readers of these pages to condemn racist and hate speech in all of its forms and manifestations.