[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Oперация Рейнхард.
География: Собибор.

 


Второй лагерь, Собибор, был основан в марте 1942г. рядом с городком и железнодорожной станцией Собибор, в изолированной, лесистой и болотистой местности, хотя и недалеко от ж-д магистрали Хелмно- Влодава.

Оберштурмфюрер СС Рихард Томала из стройуправления СС в Люблине первоначально возглавлял строительство, но через месяц был заменен первым комендантом лагеря, оберштурмфюрером СС Штанглем, ответственным за окончание работ (подробности строительства см pub/orgs/israeli/yad-vashem/ yvs16.04 ).

Собибор был срланирован и построен в форме прямоугольника 400 на 600 метров. Лагерь был окружен забором из колючей проволоки высотой 3 метра; для маскировки колючая проволока былы переплетена ветвями деревьев. Лагерь был разделен на 3 части. Каждая часть отделялась от других внутренними заборами из колючей проволоки.

1.      Административная зона состояла из предлагеря,непосредственно у ж-д станции и Первого лагеря. Здесь была прирельсовая платформа для двадцати товарных вагонов и казармы для немецкого и украинского персонала. В первом лагере, отделенном еще одним забором, были бараки для еврейских заключенных и мастерские, где некоторые из них работали.

2.      Приемная зона или Второй лагерь,куда сгоняли евреев после разгрузки из вагонов. Здесь - перед тем, как убить - их подвергали различным процедурам, как то: сбор одежды, изъятие ценностей,стрижка женщин наголо.

3.      Зона уничтожения, Третий лагерь размещался в северо-восточной, наиболее изолированной части Собиборского лагеря. Там были газовые камеры, траншеи для захоронения и бараки для работавших там еврейских заключенных. Дорога - длиной в 150 метров и шириной от 3 до 4 метров- вела из Второго в Третий лагерь Она была с обеих сторон огорожена колючей проволокой, переплетенной с древесными ветками (для маскировки). По этой дороге ее называли трубой - гнали испуганных и обнаженных людей в газовые камеры после окончания приемных процедур. Для еще живых, но слишком больных или слабых,чтобы дойти до газовой камеры, и умерших в вагонах была узкоколейка между разгрузочной платформой в Первом лагере и могильными ямами в Третьем.

Газовые камеры были в кирпичном здании. Сначала были три камеры, каждая площадью 16 кв м и емкостью от 160 до 180 человек Людей загоняли через двери, с платформы вдоль фасада,через заднюю дверь выгружали трупы Газ, окись углерода, поступал от двигателя мощностью 200 л с, установленного рядом в сарае.

Могильные траншеи, каждая от 50 до 60 м в длину, от 10 до 15 в ширину и от 5 до 7 в глубину, были рядом с газовыми камерами. Первое испытание всей системы убийства состоялось в середине апреля, когда 250 евреев, в основном женщин, из Кричевского лагеря были убиты в присутствии всего штата эсэсовцев.

Три дополнительные газовые камеры были добавлены во время короткого перерыва в операциях лагеря, в августе-сентябре 1942г. В это время комендант Штангль был переведен в Треблинку и заменен оберштурмфюрером СС Францем Райхсляйтнером.

В конце лета 1942г. могильные траншеи были разрыты, трупы извлечены и сожжены в больших кучах. Впоследствии жертвы были кремированы сразу после смерти.

5 июля 1943г, Гиммлер приказал преобразовать Собибор из лагеря уничтожения в обычный концлагерь Был построен Четвертый лагерь для хранения захваченного советского вооружения.

После восстания в Собиборе Гиммлер отказался от идеи концлагеря в этом месте и приказал уничтожить лагерь. Здания были разрушены, почва перепахана и засеяна зерном. К концу 1943 от Собиборского лагеря не осталось следа. Сейчас здесь Польская Национальная Святыня. (Encyclopedia, IV, 1373-1378).


[ Предыдущая стр. | Оглавление | Следующая стр. ] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

The Nizkor Project: Remembering the Holocaust (Shoah)

Operation Reinhard:
Geographic Location: Sobibor

The second, Sobibor, was established in March of 1942, near the village and rail station of Sobibor, not far from the Chelm-Wlodawa railroad line, in an isolated, wooded and swampy area.

SS-Obersturmführer Richard Thomalla, a staff member of the SS Construction Office in Lublin, was in charge of construction, but was replaced a month later by the first Camp Commandant, SS-Obersturmführer Stangl, who was responsible for completing the job. (get pub/orgs/israeli/yad-vashem/ yvs16.04 for construction details.)

Sobibor was designed and constructed in the form of a rectangle, 400 by 600 meters in size. It was surrounded by a barbed wire fence 3 meters high, which had tree branches intertwined with it in order to disguise the camp. It was divided into three distinct areas, each independently surrounded by more barbed wire. These areas were:

    1. The Administrative area - it consisted of the Vorlager ("forward camp"e;; closest to the railroad station), and Camp I, and included the railroad platform, with space for twenty freight cars, and living quarters for the German and Ukrainian staff. Camp I, which was fenced off from the rest, contained housing for Jewish prisoners and the workshops in which some of them worked.

    2. The reception area, or Camp II. This was the place where the Jews from incoming transports were brought. Here they went through various procedures before being killed - removal of clothing, cutting of women's hair, and the confiscation of valuables.

    3. The extermination area, Camp III. It was located in the northwest part of the camp, and the most isolated. It contained the gas chambers, burial trenches, and housing for Jewish prisoners employed there. A path, 3 to 4 meters wide and 150 meters long, led from Camp II to the extermination area. It was enclosed with barbed wire on both sides, and was camouflaged with intertwined branches to conceal the path from view. The path, or "tube", was used to herd the terrified and naked victims into the gas chambers after being processed. There was also a narrow-gauge railroad which ran from the rail platform directly to the burial trenches; it was used to transport those who arrived too ill or too weak to make it on their own, and for those who had died in transit.

    The gas chambers were inside a brick building. There were initially three of them, each 16 square meters in size, and each capable of holding from 160 to 180 persons. They were entered through doors on a platform in the front of the brick building, and a second door was used to remove bodies after the killing was finished. The gas, carbon monoxide, was produced by a 200 horsepower engine in a nearby shed.

Burial trenches were nearby, each 50 to 60 meters long, 10 to 15 meters wide, and 5 to 7 meters deep. The initial test of the killing system occurred in mid-April, when 250 Jews, primarily women, from the Krychow labor camp, were killed while the entire SS contingent attended.

Three additional gas chambers were added during a brief halt in camp operations which occurred in August-September, 1942. During this period, Stangl was sent to Treblinka, and replaced by SS-Obersturmführer Franz Reichsleitner as Camp Commandant.

At the end of the summer of 1942, the burial trenches were opened, and the bodies burned in huge piles. Subsequent victims were cremated immediately after death, instead of being buried as had been done previously.

On July 5, 1943, Himmler ordered the camp closed as an extermination center, and converted to use as a concentration camp. Camp IV was built in order to store captured Soviet ammunition.

After the uprising at Sobibor, Himmler abandoned the idea of a concentration camp and ordered the camp destroyed. The buildings were destroyed, the land plowed under, and crops planted. No trace remained by the end of 1943. The area is now a Polish National Shrine. (Encyclopedia, IV, 1373-1378)

[ Previous | Index | Next ]

Home ·  Site Map ·  What's New? ·  Search Nizkor

© The Nizkor Project, 1991-2012

This site is intended for educational purposes to teach about the Holocaust and to combat hatred. Any statements or excerpts found on this site are for educational purposes only.

As part of these educational purposes, Nizkor may include on this website materials, such as excerpts from the writings of racists and antisemites. Far from approving these writings, Nizkor condemns them and provides them so that its readers can learn the nature and extent of hate and antisemitic discourse. Nizkor urges the readers of these pages to condemn racist and hate speech in all of its forms and manifestations.